Second GCISD Walk of Honor Class Being Inducted
Posted on 10/21/2019

Grapevine-Colleyville ISD and the Walk of Honor Committee are proud to announce the second class of the GCISD Walk of Honor. These four individuals have served the District with honor, distinction, and service and will be honored permanently with plaques at the newly renovated Mustang Panther Stadium.

The group will be honored prior to that night's football game which begins at 7 p.m. at Mustang Panther Stadium between Grapevine High School and Colleyville Heritage High School.

The four inductees are: Billie Hurst Ebersol, Bill Powers, Mary Virginia Wall Simmons and Roy Stewart.

A 1955 GHS graduate, Billie made a lasting impact on the GCISD community through decades of involvement. She taught 1st grade at Cannon Elementary for 35 years, was the 1971 District Teacher of the Year, and enjoyed staying in contact with former students. She is a member of the ’36 Club, Grapevine Historical Society, Heritage Society, Delta Kappa Gamma, GHS Ex-Students and is an honoree in the GHS Hall of Fame. 

A 1949 GHS graduate, Bill lettered in football and basketball, becoming a lifelong Mustang fan. As an Army veteran, he was a volunteer fireman, Fire Marshal, Assistant Fire Chief, and then Fire Chief for Grapevine from 1984-1999. He served on the School Board, the city’s first Housing Authority, the first Planning & Zoning Commission and as president of the GHS Ex-Students. He is honored in the GHS Hall of Fame.

Known for her love and knowledge of all things Grapevine, Mary Virginia was a teacher, historian, and community leader. Graduating as Valedictorian from GHS in 1927, she taught in the Grapevine schools after attending SMU.  She was the 1989 Woman of the Year, 2004 Citizen of the Year and a Distinguished Faculty honoree in the GHS Hall of Fame. An icon of Grapevine, she lived in the area for all of her 98 years.

In 1981, Roy moved to Grapevine where he dedicated himself to GCISD and the community for decades by serving on educational, business, and community boards. He served as School Board Vice President, as a Grapevine City Councilman, and as a founding member of the Education Foundation. His honors include Rotarian of the Year, the 1989 DE Box Citizen of the Year and the Education Foundation’s 2003 Distinguished Friend.