Student Elected as State President Highlights DECA
Posted on 02/25/2020
Image of Aly Moosa and Stephanie Neal

Colleyville Heritage High School and Grapevine High School DECA members attended the Texas State Career Development Conference in Fort Worth, competing against 5,300 students from across the state in various categories. 

The highlight of the weekend for GCISD was Aly Moosa, a junior at Colleyville Heritage High School, being elected as the Texas DECA President. He is the first in GCISD history to be elected as Texas DECA President.

Aly was one of 19 Texas DECA elite members running for a Texas DECA State Officer position at the SCDC. The election process was scored on the following components: officer exam, two interviews and popular vote from the voting delegates of each chapter. He also created a candidate campaign, participated in a meet-and-greet session and gave a riveting campaign speech without hesitation in front of thousands of DECA members filling the Fort Worth Convention Arena.

Aly will serve his presidential term beginning now through April 2021 and be the voice for over 15,000 Texas DECA members. He will travel the globe with his officer team and attend various leadership summits and conferences, DECA competition and events. 

In addition to Aly’s success, the Grapevine High School DECA chapter earned the Diamond Chapter award for having over 200 members.

A total of 36 GCISD students were honored at the conference, including 18 State Winners who will all move on to compete at the International Career Development Conference in Nashville in April. There will be over 20,000 students from across the U.S. and Canada competing at the conference.

GCISD’s individual winners include:

State Winners
Andrew Balod, Nathan Margetts, Michael Mathisen - GHS - School Based Enterprise
Brooke Bingham and Norie Marshall - GHS - Financial Literacy Project
Preston Cornelius - GHS - Food Marketing
Ansha Dewani - CHHS - Business Services Marketing Series 
Cole Franklin - GHS - Principles of Hospitality
Seattle Hickey, Michael Mathisen and Namita Patel - GHS - Sales Project
Reese Lipe, Victoria Margiotta, Michael Strobel - GHS - Business Solutions Project
Anthony Losito - CHHS - Sports & Entertainment Marketing Series 
Aly Moosa - CHHS - Marketing Communications Series 
Garrett Porter - GHS - Automotive Services Marketing
Cindey Xiao - CHHS - Hospitality & Tourism Operations Research 
Samantha Zelling - CHHS - Hospitality & Tourism Operations Research 

State Runner-Ups
Jasmin Ashley - GHS - Hotel & Lodging Management
Andrew Balod, Zyad Choudry, Nathan Margetts - GHS - Franchise Business Plan
Kathryn Casella - GHS - Business Growth Plan
Graysen Denning and Madison Hartsfield - GHS - Career Development Project
Macy Hetisimer and Jane Vanzant - GHS - Marketing Management Team
Molly Meyer and Kavya Shah - GHS - Buying & Merchandising Operations Research - 
Tasiana Naputi and Phoebe Pollock - GHS - Hospitality Services Team
Angelica Parker - CHHS - Personal Financial Literacy
Anil Saeed - CHHS - Entrepreneurship Series
Camille Temple - GHS - Quick Serve Restaurant
Pranav Veera - CHHS - Financial Services Team Decision Making Series 
Azher Virani - CHHS - Financial Services Team Decision Making Series
Jordan Wallace - CHHS - Hotel & Lodging Management Series