Arencibia Named Region Principal of the Year
Posted on 06/17/2021

Grapevine-Colleyville ISD is proud to announce that Dr. David Arencibia, Colleyville Middle School Principal, has been named the 2021-2022 Region 11 Middle School Principal of the Year, an award sponsored by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP) to recognize exemplary performance among campus-level administrators in Texas.

Dr. Arencibia has served five years as the principal of Colleyville Middle and 20 years in education. In his time at CMS, he has helped the Colts become a National Forum and TASSP Schools to Watch designee, one of just 50 schools in Texas to hold that distinction. Leaders selected Colleyville Middle School for that award because of its academic excellence, developmental responsiveness, social equity and organizational structure and processes. 

“This award is an absolute honor to receive,” Arencibia said. “The recognition is definitely a shared one between the staff, students, district, and community that I have had the privilege of working with these past five years while being the principal at Colleyville Middle School. 

“Personally, this award means so much to me knowing that there have been countless hours spent working with all of our stakeholders that are dedicated to helping make Colleyville Middle School one of the best middle schools in the state of Texas and the country. 

“I am humbled by an organization such as the TASSP to recognize me for such a distinction. It has been a blessing to work with amazing students and outstanding professionals throughout my career; I owe this great recognition to each of them.”

School administrators are nominated and chosen by their peers within their regions for this award. Nominations are based upon exemplary performance and outstanding leadership. As the Region 11 winner, Dr. Arencibia is now a finalist for the TASSP State Principal of the Year award. 

TASSP is an association established in 1923 formed by, and for, over 5,600 campus-level administrators. Its purpose is to build an active network of educators that want to take responsibility for the quality of school leadership.