2021 Walk of Honor Class Being Inducted
Posted on 08/25/2021

Grapevine-Colleyville ISD and the Walk of Honor Committee are proud to announce the fourth class of the GCISD Walk of Honor. These two individuals have served the District with honor, distinction, and service and will be honored permanently with plaques at Mustang Panther Stadium.

The group will be honored prior to Friday night's “Battle of the Red Rail” football game which begins at 7:30 p.m. at Mustang Panther Stadium between Grapevine High School and Colleyville Heritage High School. The Walk of Honor recognition will begin at approximately 6:45 p.m.

The two inductees in the Class of 2021 are Marion Brekken and Jerry Grantham. In addition, the Class of 2020 will be honored before the game. The four members of that induction class include Joseph N. (Joe) Box, Bob Burrus, Phil Parker and Ted Ware.  

More information on the Walk of Honor can be found at www.GCISDWalkofHonor.com.

Marion Brekken
Marion’s heartfelt commitment to excellence in education is evidenced by her achievements as high school valedictorian and college Phi Beta Kappa in Wisconsin. After moving to Grapevine in 1978, she served on the Grapevine City Council 1980-1986, and GCISD Board of Trustees 1990-1997. A founding director of the GCISD Education Foundation, serving in numerous capacities 1998-2009, she was named Distinguished Friend in 2015. Other honors include the Chamber’s DE Box Citizen of the Year 1987 and Woman of the Year 1990.

Jerry Grantham
With deep family roots in both Colleyville and Grapevine, Jerry’s quiet, diplomatic demeanor helped build a strong unified system following the merger of the two school districts. His vision for hands on job skills education resulted in the creation of the Regional Vocation Skills Center in 1973. A 1949 graduate of GHS, he received his degree from UNT and served in the Army and Navy Reserves. An aerospace engineer for Braniff and Regional Manager for Lord Corporation, he also found time to serve on the GCISD Board of Trustees from 1965-1975 during a time of great change and growth in the district.