GCISD Announces 18 National Merit Semifinalists
Posted on 09/15/2021

Grapevine-Colleyville ISD is proud to recognize the 18 members of the Class of 2022 who have been named National Merit Semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Over the past 11 years, GCISD has celebrated the recognition of 192 National Merit Semifinalists. In the last six years, 122 GCISD students have been named Semifinalists.

GCISD’s 18 semifinalists from the Class of 2022 is its largest number of semifinalists since the Class of 2019, and that is despite the cutoff score to become a semifinalist going up by one point since last year for students in Texas.

GCISD’s 18 National Merit Semifinalists are:

Colleyville Heritage High School
Reagan Brown
Sunehra Chowdhury
Dylan Council
Jiho Lee
Moid Meghani
Alissa Park
Nhi Quach
Andrew Winter
Cindey Xiao
Judy Zhu

Grapevine High School
Thelonious Brown
Elinor Holland
William Holland
Justin Lan
Aurora Tong
Thomas Tran
Jennifer Yan
Michael Yu

Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, and write an essay.

Those that advance to the Finalist level will be notified of this designation in February. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.