Colleyville MS Principal Named Finalist for National Principal of the Year
Posted on 10/06/2022
The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) has announced that Dr. David Arencibia, principal of Colleyville Middle School, has been named one of three finalists in the country for National Principal of the Year.

This annual award recognizes outstanding secondary school principals’ exemplary contributions to their schools, staff, students and the profession.

Click here to see Arencibia’s reaction to the news when he received the call.

Arencibia has taught, coached, and served as an administrator at all secondary levels in his 22 years of education. As an assistant principal, he was named the Texas Region 11 Assistant Principal of the Year. As current principal of Colleyville Middle School, the school has received several accolades and distinctions under his leadership, including being named a Texas School to Watch, a Nationally Recognized Model Campus, and a National PTA School of Excellence. Under his leadership, the school has reached some of the highest academic scores in several subject areas in school history. He has helped build the partnership between the PTA and school, obtaining the highest participation numbers in school history for three years consecutively, with more members than there are students.

Arencibia also helps his school achieve excellence by focusing on the core values of positivity, team, strengths, and growth mindset. By modeling these core values, the school encourages students to excel both inside and outside of the classroom.

Since 2000, Arencibia is only the third finalist selected from Texas, and the first finalist from the state since 2003.

He has received this honor along with John Briquelet from Whitney High School in Cerritos, Calif., and Donna Hayward from Haddam Killingworth High School in Higganum, Conn. The 2023 NASSP National Principal of the Year will be selected from among the finalists and announced November 10 at a gala in Arlington, Va. To read more about each of the principals of the year, visit